YLAL’s committee steers and coordinates YLAL’s work. Committee members have responsibilities for YLAL’s communications, mentoring scheme, jobs page, blogs, press, and more.

Interested in joining us? Have a look at our Committee Recruitment page for any opportunities, and to learn more about what we’re looking for from applicants.

Isaac Abraham is co-chair of the YLAL Committee. He is a solicitor in the Immigration department at Wilson Solicitors.

Abbi Hart is a co-chair of YLAL. She is a trainee solicitor at Hodge, Jones & Allen Solicitors in London.

Queenie Sit is a co-chair of the YLAL committee. She is an LLM (Master of Laws) student at Queen Mary University of London with an interest in state crime, human rights, and international criminal law.

James McGowan is a former co-chair of the YLAL Committee. He has worked in politics for the past 6 years, focusing mainly on housing, access to justice and social security. He’s currently re-training as a barrister and doing a mix of voluntary legal work.

Maryam Shah is a pupil barrister at Littleton Chambers. She has an interest in human rights and employment and discrimination law. She is a former YLAL co-chair.

Emma Trevett is an education and community care solicitor. Emma helps to organise YLAL meetings in Bristol.

Sunny Singh is a recent Law graduate from the London School of Economics. She has a keen interest in criminal law and human rights. Sunny is YLAL’s treasurer.

Luisa Le Voguer Couyet is a paralegal at the Public Interest Law Centre working in public law.

Amanda Coldwell is a mental health solicitor at Biscoes Solicitors in Portsmouth. 

Sian Hukin is a trainee solicitor working in criminal defence at Stokoe Partnership Solicitors in Manchester. She has a particular interest in holistic defence and how mental illness and neurodivergence can impact people’s interaction with the criminal justice system.

Myriam Naoual is a Justice First Fellow and a trainee solicitor at Family Rights Group. 

Maya Jordan-Shah is a social welfare solicitor at TV Edwards Solicitors.

Jacob Simmons is a trainee solicitor at MJC Law in Leeds. He represents people who lack capacity to make decisions about their health and welfare in the Court of Protection.  

Tom Thrower is a trainee solicitor at Broudie Jackson Canter in Liverpool. He has a particular interest in Immigration and Asylum.

Avaia Williams is currently a legal officer within a Local Authority. He is a future pupil barrister at Parklane Plowden Chambers.

Valeria Fernandez-Soriano is a recent LLM Legal Practice Course graduate. She has a keen interest in immigration and asylum law.